Anti-Chocolatiers of the World, Unite!

The Telegraph reports on Japanese revolutionaries plotting to crush Valentine’s Day.

In a most alarming quote, we find that “The blood-soaked conspiracy of Valentine’s Day, driven by the oppressive chocolate capitalists, has arrived once again”.

Um…well…I kinda like chocolate. Okay, I like it a lot. I go for 70% cocoa dark chocolate (85% is a bit too bitter for my tastes).

I guess I’m willing to be exploited by capitalists.

On the other hand, it’s not really about chocolate, now is it?

We continue to read that, “Kakuhido was founded in 2006 by Katsuhiro Furusawa, who started reading the Communist manifesto after being dumped by his girlfriend at Christmas – and swiftly concluded that not being popular with the opposite sex is a class issue”.

Oh, dear Lord.

Not the Communist Manifesto.

This is where feminism went from being a movement of individual liberty (property rights, voting rights, labour rights) to an ideology of class hatred complete with proposed authoritarian government mandates.

I fully agree that Valentine’s Day is the most sexist holiday by far – and the only reason feminists aren’t up in arms about it is that women are the primary beneficiaries.

Don’t get mad. Buy that chocolate. Dark chocolate. 70% cocoa. Or 85% if you’re feeling lucky.

But keep it for yourself.

One thought on “Anti-Chocolatiers of the World, Unite!

  1. LOL! Communism and chocolate, oh boy.

    It’s kind of interesting, there are a whole lot of women that really dislike Valentine’s Day, myself included. It cheapens the whole thing, presents love as if it were as flat and two dimensional as hallmark card. Also, it tends to to stress out men we happen to love. My husband still thinks he needs to bring me the obligatory box of chocolate or flowers, when honestly I don’t really want them. He’s shown he loves me for 30 years now, but it’s nearly impossible to convince him of that because the whole culture and the candy lobby is telling him something different.

Comments are closed.