Eve Ensler’s “Man Prayer” Gender Flipped

Eve Ensler wrote the Man Prayer in 2013. Some claim the Man Prayer is sexist. Best known for the Vagina Monologues, Ensler is no stranger to controversy (mainly for the part about a woman’s “good rape” of a 13 year old girl).

To test the idea that the Man Prayer is sexist I decided to reverse the gender roles. You be the judge:

May I be a man.

Whose confidence comes from the depth of my giving.

Who understands that vulnerability is my greatest strength.

Who creates space rather than dominates it.

 

Who appreciates listening more than knowing.

Who seeks kindness over control.

Who cries when the grief is too much.

 

Who refuses the slap, the gun, the choke, the insult, the punch.

May I not be afraid to get lost.

May I cherish touch more than performance.

 

And the experience more than getting there.

May I move slowly not abruptly.

May I be brave enough to share my fear and shame.

And gather the other men to do the same.

May I stop pretending and open the parts of me that have long been numb.

May I cherish, respect and love my mother.

May the resonance of that love translate into loving all women and living things.

Love.

May I be a woman

Whose confidence comes from the depth of character.

Who understands that equal responsibility goes along with equal rights.

Who respects male spaces as much as female spaces.

Who appreciates listening more than shaming men.

Who seeks kindness over control.

Who doesn’t play the damsel in distress when things get tough.

Who refuses the slap, the gun, the choke, the insult, the punch.

May I not be afraid to take responsibility for myself.

May I cherish all he does for me more than my demands on him.

And the experience more than what I want from him next.

May I move slowly not abruptly.

May I be brave enough to own my actions rather than putting myself on a pedestal.

And gather the other women to do the same.

May I stop pretending that only I have issues, while thinking he has none.

May I cherish, respect and love my father, husband, and sons.

May the resonance of that love translate into loving all men, boys and living things.

Love.

One thought on “Eve Ensler’s “Man Prayer” Gender Flipped

Comments are closed.